UpTrucks arrived!

October 28, 2006 at 10:15 am 3 comments

Got the medium flex longboard UpTrucks. Probably should have gotten the soft flex–I’m not heavy enough to get them to move much. As for speed wobble, a bigger, more skilled friend of mine tried them out down a hill and said that speed wobble happens anyway. I’m starting to think it’s a head thing–I’ve read many posts on forums about how when you just relax, speed wobble goes away. I could imagine this is because you stop microcompensating for little changes (as you freak out about the speed) and stop making the problem worse.

On a side note, the more I play with skateboards, the more I’m falling in love with my kickboard again. In a city made purely of flat asphalt with no cracks or cobblestones and wide lanes, a longboard would be fantastic, dreamy transportation. Unfortunately Helsinki sidewalks are full of two inch wide drainage channels, cobblestones, and unpredictable little old ladies. (It’s funny how riding a small-wheeled thing makes you remap your city in terms of terrain) You constantly have to be on and off the board, and having that handle makes a huge difference.

Now of course I’m dreaming of a carving kickboard. I know K2 made some interesting other versions of what I’ve got, with two tiny wheels in the front and bigger ones in the back(seen them on eBay) but not with a super-squishy deck. Loaded bamboo board with a handle? Anyone?

Entry filed under: Skateboards, Transportation.

Charge your EU cell in the US without an adapter The Gay Marriage FAQ

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Niko  |  April 14, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    If the speed wobble on wheels is anything like what happens on a snowboard at high speeds, I say you need to work your ankles and calfs.

    Reply
  • 2. veltis  |  April 16, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    You mean I can’t buy/design my way out of this problem? I have to WORK at it? Is THAT what you’re saying?!? 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Niko  |  April 16, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    Exactly. It sucks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is a good day to play

A collection of potential future projects, to dig deeper into when I find the time.

del.icio.us links


