OSX apps to discipline your desktop

October 25, 2007 at 8:19 am 3 comments

Even if you’re not hooked into the ADD world of Twitter/Pownce/Jaiku, you’ve got email, web, and probably a dozen open windows and applications all screaming for your attention while you’re trying to get work done. Here are some apps that will tell them all to shut up and try talking one at a time:

Think by Freeverse: Hides everything except your one chosen app behind a dark translucent backdrop. Free.

Spirited away by drinkin.com: Hides windows if they’ve been unused for a certain period of time.

Writeroom by HogBaySoftware: A text editor that fills your entire screen, including the menu, black, and leaves you with nothing but a blinking cursor. Criticized by Niko for cashing in on retro nostalgia, but, well, it twangs the right heartstrings for me.

Entry filed under: Really useful sites. Tags: , , .

The Short List (for now) A little iPod Touch app hack

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vijay Prozak  |  November 23, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    I could never support Apple.

    Head over to http://www.freebsd.org and install a healthier operating system on your white box.

    White boxes are more environmentally conscious. Standard parts means you can swap out the old and put in the new, and send less to the landfill.

    Apple is a cult of smugness.

    Reply
  • 2. veltis  |  November 23, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    That’s a nice idea and the environmental aspect is true, however there are a bunch of apps (like Illustrator) that I personally use on a regular basis that don’t run on freebsd. I use my computer as a tool, and if it doesn’t have the features I need it’s useless. I also recently installed Parallels and Windows so I can run 3D modeling software for a CNC machine, which doesn’t exist for OSX, and certainly not for freebsd.

    I also give my old computers to relatives who don’t need the processing power, and help them keep them running as long as possible, which includes swapping out parts. Less computers would go to landfill in general if people would care to maintain them and donate them onwards–a store around the corner from me is using a MacPlus as a cash register, for example.

    I’ve been using Apple since the Lisa came out when I was five years old–it’s simply the system I’m most intimately familiar with, and especially since they switched to Unix I’ve had no compelling better option. Not all Apple users are raving glassy-eyed consumer sheep…

    Reply
  • 3. Carl  |  December 17, 2007 at 3:17 am

    “Apple is a cult of smugness.”

    Indeed. And it’s a good thing you’re so humble about FreeBSD.

    I don’t get it though. What’s a white box and how is it any more environmentally friendly than… I guess I don’t know what the other kinds of computers are called. Off white boxes? I don’t know how to “swap out” parts, so I’ve probably lost all self-respect in your eyes by this point.

    I’m sure FreeBSD is fine and all, but I don’t have a tech-y job. I just need things to work without having to know any acronyms, type commands, or have self-righteous nerds look down at me for not understanding their jargon. I can’t even figure out what’s going on on the FreeBSD download page, all these numbers and acronyms tell me that if I can’t even figure out what to download, I certainly won’t be able to figure out how to use it. Let me know when you’ve got an operating system for non-nerds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is a good day to play

A collection of potential future projects, to dig deeper into when I find the time.

del.icio.us links


